top of page

Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast

Home: Welcome

About

2019-09-07 14.45_edited.jpg

My name is Lily-Anna Smith, I am a student at Forth Valley College currently studying my second year HND in Creative Industries: Media and Communications. 


Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast was created as part of my Podcasting class for college. Episodes will be published bi-weekly. I chose this topic because I grew up with some of these stories and they have always fascinated me so I wanted to share them with more people. 

Home: About
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Lily-Anna Smith

Episode 2; The Kelpies

Updated: Jan 2, 2020

Listen to the podcast here



The famous Kelpie statues in Falkirk are over 1,000 feet tall and weigh over 300 tonnes each. The sculptures were molded on Clydesdale horses Duke and Baron. The first year that the 5-star tourist attraction nearly one million people visited them, they are built from structural steel with a stainless-steel cladding. Construction on the sculptures started in the June 2013 and was completed by October 2013.



They also have a smaller pair of Kelpie sculptures that are a tenth of the size of the original and are portable. They have been displayed all over the world from Edinburgh Airport to the Field Museum in Grant Park, Chicago, USA.

If you want to visit the Kelpie sculptures the address is The Helix, Falkirk, Scotland, FK2 7ZT



bottom of page