top of page

Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast

Home: Welcome

About

2019-09-07 14.45_edited.jpg

My name is Lily-Anna Smith, I am a student at Forth Valley College currently studying my second year HND in Creative Industries: Media and Communications. 


Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast was created as part of my Podcasting class for college. Episodes will be published bi-weekly. I chose this topic because I grew up with some of these stories and they have always fascinated me so I wanted to share them with more people. 

Home: About
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Lily-Anna Smith

Episode 5; The Arthur's Seat Coffins

Listen here;



If you want to visit the Arthur's Seat Coffins, and see them for yourself, they are on exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland. Address; Chambers St, Edinburgh EH1 1JF


In the early 1990s, Professor Samuel Menefee & Dr Allen Simpson investigated the remaining coffins and found that;

  • All of the figures seemed to be made by the same hand, although some of the coffins may have been made by two different people

  • Some of the materials used to make them included wood, iron, embellishments, nails, a sharp, hooked knife that suggested the coffins were made by a shoe maker

  • The eyes of the figures inside the coffins were open, making it unlikely they were designed to resemble coffins

  • The fabric the little bodies are dressed in dates back to the early 1930s, so they couldn't have been hidden in Arthur's Seat longer than six years.



bottom of page