top of page

Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast

Home: Welcome

About

2019-09-07 14.45_edited.jpg

My name is Lily-Anna Smith, I am a student at Forth Valley College currently studying my second year HND in Creative Industries: Media and Communications. 


Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast was created as part of my Podcasting class for college. Episodes will be published bi-weekly. I chose this topic because I grew up with some of these stories and they have always fascinated me so I wanted to share them with more people. 

Home: About
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Lily-Anna Smith

Episode 4; Selkies

Listen to the podcast here;





For children who were born with differences, before modern medicine, it was blamed on alleged Selkie heritage. For children born with "scaly" skin, they were unlikely to be children of Seklies but more commonly to have ichthypsis which is a genetic skin disorder that causes patches of skin to harden and appear scaly. For children born with a "seals head" was more likely to be due to anencephaly which is a a birth defect, where during the development in the embryo there is a major absence of the brain, skull and scalp.

The MacCodrum clan of the Outer Hebrides became known as the "MacCondrums of the seals" because they claimed to be descendants from a Selkie and fisherman union - this was also an explanation of their syndactyly (a growth fusing the skin between their fingers) which gave the appearance of flippers.

bottom of page