top of page

Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast

Home: Welcome

About

2019-09-07 14.45_edited.jpg

My name is Lily-Anna Smith, I am a student at Forth Valley College currently studying my second year HND in Creative Industries: Media and Communications. 


Scottish Folklore & Myths: The Podcast was created as part of my Podcasting class for college. Episodes will be published bi-weekly. I chose this topic because I grew up with some of these stories and they have always fascinated me so I wanted to share them with more people. 

Home: About
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Lily-Anna Smith

Episode 3; The Gorbals Vampire

Updated: Jan 16, 2020

Listen to the podcast here:




Bob Hamilton, who was a boy at the time, took part in the hunt back in 1954 recounted the event in an interview with Glasgow Live he said “we used to sit and tell ghost stories, scary stories. The vampire was supposed to have killed two children. I think It was when the headmasters of the schools heard about it, they had to put a stop to it.” You can see the full interview here


Credit; https://www.geograph.org.uk/photo/5931890

The Gorbals Vampire was turned into a stage performance late October 2016. Marvellous Murals, a competition run by the ScottishPower Foundation and the Citizens Theatre ahead of the stage performance. Elle Bryson & Art Pistol won the competition and you can find their mural with a brief description of the event in an archway on St Luke's Place, not far from Glasgow's Citizen Theatre in the Gorbals. Ann Loughrey, executive officer at the ScottishPower Foundation, said: “By encouraging people young and old to get out and learn about this legendary story, we’re hoping to inspire a new generation of art and theatre lovers in the area.

bottom of page